My Story

My first blog post…here we go! Hi all! I’m Kelly and I am basically an overall wellness enthusiast. Anything and everything that has to do with eating right and exercising and detoxing I am ALL about! Ever since I joined the EAT CLEAN bandwagon in 2011 my life changed for the better. I want to inspire others through this blog to make the same choices! Here is a little bit of my background…

I was a ballet dancer for many years, ages 5-21, so being active has always been my lifestyle. After an injury forced me to stop dancing in college, I  had to find something else to keep me active and busy. I started to workout more: run, lift weights, etc. However, during this time I noticed I was slowly gaining weight–I could not figure out why. I wasn’t over-eating and I was exercising so what gives?! It wasn’t until I discovered the eating clean lifestyle (THANKS to the one and only Tosca Reno) that I figured out what was going on. I wasn’t eating the RIGHT kind of food! I drank diet sodas, ate too much processed bread/foods, frozen dinners, cereal (even so-called healthy ones like Kashi), you name it! So, after I eliminated all the crap and began to eat “dirt clean” foods as I call it, I lost the extra weight I was carrying before it became too much.

Tosca Reno’s book on eating clean is what first opened my eyes to the chemicals that are in our food. Our bodies don’t know what to do with these chemicals and that is why people slowly gain weight over the years and wonder why! Muffin top? Cellulite? Dull skin??? It’s from what you are putting in your body day in and day out. You are what you eat. I am here to help and encourage you to change lifestyles. It’s about counting chemicals, not calories. Quality, NOT quantity.

Since 2011 I have gained even more knowledge and further “restricted” my diet to a primal-paleo lifestyle. I say primal-paleo because I am not 100% paleo (info on this will be for another blog post). I feel best on limited grains (only eating organic oats, quinoa, organic rice-these are not paleo) and I eat tons of organic vegetables, clean (grassfed beef, pasture-raised chicken/eggs), and fruit, and at least 1 gallon of water daily. I indulge on occasion, but, 90% of what goes in my body is under “paleo” standards.

My goal is to influence others to change their eating habits in order to feel and look their absolute best. Self-confidence is everything. When you eat good you feel good–and this is what matters. We all want to live long, healthy lives, right? The best way to do so is to eat DIRT CLEAN foods and WORKOUT (sweat, detox) on a daily basis. This is not a diet-it’s a lifestyle! Each and every meal counts!

 

Leave a Reply

