“Bulletproof” coffee

You need to google bulletproof coffee, first of all, because I did not come up with this! I do a slight variation of the original bulletproof coffee as I use organic, unrefined coconut oil and then of course grassfed butter. I don’t always make this in the morning – I don’t drink this before I go workout – but I do make this on the weekend or for an actual breakfast if I am not in the mood to eat something right away. It’s loaded with HEALTHY FAT – so don’t be scared to try this because it’s coffee with butter. It is actually very nutritious – the health benefits of grassfed butter and coconut oil are immense! The butter has to be pure, grassfed butter because we do not want to consume any of the antibiotics or hormones that a conventional cow would have been fed. Organic or grassfed butter would not come from an unhealthy cow. And truly we are only as healthy as the meat/eggs/butter/FOOD we eat which is why I NEVER purchase factory farmed meat!

Anyway, back to this bulletproof coffee! Healthy fat in the morning is perfect for you because it will keep you full compared to a carbohydrate rich breakfast. If you eat nothing but pure carbs for breakfast, such as a piece of fruit, you are spiking your blood sugar and you will find yourself pretty darn starving after about 1.5 to 2 hours! Which is why if you drink coffee with all of this healthy fat – you won’t spike your blood sugar at all. These healthy fats are so good for your brain, digestive system, your skin, etc., and when you combine it with organic, high quality coffee beans, you have an antioxidant rich drink. So if you are the type who hates to eat breakfast – this is the absolute perfect breakfast for you! Try it out – I promise you will love it. It is also a great way to get yourself off of the sugar habit in your coffee because this is creamy and tastes like a bad-for-you Starbucks beverage – though this isn’t bad for you at all! It is very simple to make so here is what I do:

First, I buy organic coffee beans. Organic is imperative because coffee beans are highly sprayed with pesticides and we do not want to consume those pesticide residues. Organic beans also taste better than conventional coffee – trust me. I prefer darker roast beans and I also use a French press. I recommend you get one of those too, they’re very easy to use and cheap. Just get on amazon and look up “French press” and get one.

I pour filtered water in the French press, filling it almost to the top, and then I pour that in my stainless steel tea kettle and bring it to a boil. I then take about 5 tbsp of coffee and put that in the bottom of the French press and wait for my water to finish boiling. Then I pour the water on top of the grinds, lightly set the plunger on top of the water, and let steep for exactly 8 mins (7-9 minutes is the rule). Once my timer goes off, I plunge the water/coffee and it’s ready to blend.

I pour the coffee in my blender, add about 1/2 – 1 tbsp grassfed butter and 1/2 – 1 tbsp organic unrefined coconut oil and blend (use a towel over the top of the blender as sometimes it splatters). Blend for just about 8 seconds or so, doesn’t need too much! And pour into large mugs. You now have the creamiest, richest, most delicious coffee ever!

YUM!

IMG_0503.JPG

Ingredients:

  • French press
  • Organic, high quality coffee beans (ground)
  • Grassfed butter (1/2 to 1 tbsp)
  • Organic unrefined coconut oil (1/2 to 1 tbsp)
  • Blender

Method:

Make your coffee as you normally do, I prefer using French press. Trust me, once you go French press you never go back to regular coffee! Pour your coffee in the blender and add the coconut oil and grassfed butter. You don’t have to be exact here – just a little of each will do! Blend on low for a few seconds, pour and enjoy. You are welcome!

 

 

One thought on ““Bulletproof” coffee

Leave a Reply

